Political and Administrative Structure

Kween District comprises of the following Local Governments and Administrative units.


Sub Counties

Town Councils





 3 Town Councils of Binyiny, Kaproron and Kapnarkut





 1 Town council of Chepsukunya









The Policy Making Organ
 Kween District Council the supreme organ, headed by the LCV Chairman, is supported by an Executive committee of 4 members and 4 policy/sectoral Committees. They deliberate policy matters and make recommendations to the full Council of 38 Councilors.

The Sectoral Committees include:

  • Finance, Administration, Investment, Information and General Purpose
  • Community Development (Gender, Labour, Youth, Children, Elderly and Disabled)
  • Education, Sports, Health, Sanitation and Security.
  • Production (Agriculture, Veterinary, Fisheries, Forestry, Environment, Marketing and Industry
  • Works, Water, Land, Urban and Regional Planning.

Statutory Bodies There are also statutory bodies, which are mandated by law to carry out specific roles and responsibilities to ensure effective and efficient service delivery. These include:

  • District Contracts Committee
  • District Public Accounts Committee
  • District Service Commission
  • District Land Board

A Contracts Committee comprising of appointed Technical Officers replaced the District Tender Board according to the Local Governments Amendment Act 2006.

Office of the Resident District Commissioner
It represents the President in the District and ensures that both national and local priorities are given due consideration and are implemented in an accountable manner.

Lower Local Governments
The Town councils, Sub counties, Parishes/Wards and villages/Cells have councils and executive committees, which coordinate the various functions.

Chief Administrative Officer
Mandate: To head the District Public Service and provide strategic leadership in developing, reviewing, monitoring and implementation of policies, plans, strategies and programmes of the Central Government and District Council; and provide for proper use and accountability of the District Council resources.

Key functions
i.    Managing and guiding the implementation of all lawful Council and Central Government policies, plans and strategies, programmes and bye-laws;
ii.    Guiding, supervising, monitoring and coordinating staff and activities of the District and lower Local Government Councils in the application of the relevant laws and policies;
iii.    Promoting accountability and transparency in the management and delivery of Council’s services  in the District and adherence to Existing Financial Regulations and Guidelines;
iv.    Promoting proper development, review and management of District Plans and strategies;
v.    Supervising and coordinating the activities of all delegated services and the Officers rendering those services in the District;
vi.    Promoting and enhancing collaboration linkages between the District Council and Central Government for effective implementation of Government policies and achievement of national objectives;
vii.    Providing technical support and advise to the political leadership of the District to facilitate effective Council decision making process;
viii.    Liaising with security bodies in the Country to ensure maintenance of law, order and security in the District; and
ix.    Promoting safe custody of all properties, documents and records of the Local Government Council.

District Leadership 2023
District Chairperson:                    Chelogoi Geoffrey  
Resident District Commissioner:  Atuhaire Hope                                                             
Chief Administrative Officer:        Albina Awor