Ms. Albina Awor

Chief Administrative Officer

Kween District is one of the Local Governments, under the Uganda Government decentralization policy, located in the east of Uganda.
We are the pearl of the Pearl of Africa.
The District Headquarters is located at Binyiny, one of the Four Town councils in the District.
The District was created by an act of Parliament and started functioning on 1st July 2010. Prior to that, it was part of Kapchorwa District.
Together with Kapchorwa District and Bukwo District, it forms the Sebei Sub-region, formerly known as Sebei District. The District is located on the northern slopes of Mount Elgon, at an average altitude of about 1,900 metres (6,200 ft), above sea level.
The district has four Town councils namely:
1. Binyiny
2. Kaproron
3. Chepsukunya
4. Kapnarkut